Health

Being Accountable

Ok, so let’s start with the most obvious yet difficult step: holding yourself accountable for your health. Your health and well-being are your responsibility. Own it!

“To keep the body in good health is a duty… otherwise we shall not be able to keep our mind strong and clear.”-Buddha

The harshest reality I have, and continue, to face with my personal health is my own responsibility in it. We are not guaranteed to have health, wealth, and happiness. We have to make it happen. It is easy to blame our genetic buildup for our physical complications. True, we are sometimes predisposed to certain illness or conditions, but that does not mean that our own actions don’t play a part in it all. I can’t blame my ancestors for me being lazy and not exercising, or shoving that burger in my face. That was me!

The first step, I feel, that we need to take in improving our health and well-being is to become accountable. Accept responsibility of your health and be accountable for the results.


Keeping track of the foods you eat daily is a great place to start! Write it down…ALL OF IT! This is something I did quite religiously, but unfortunately have slipped away from. Recording my meals helped me be more aware of what I was putting in my body and how it made me feel. It also helped me see which foods my body processed well, and which ones it didn’t. The best thing, for me, was to start with an app (such as MyFitnessPal or LoseIt!). These are put together so well and are EXTREMELY helpful. You put in your info, it gives you a target caloric intake, and you log your food. Easy! You can look them up, scan barcodes, and even input your own recipes. They even breakdown the amounts of fats, carbs, sugars, and protein you take in. If you do not want to have an app, an old school food journal works just fine! Read those nutritional labels on your foods. Find out what you are putting in your body! They are there for a reason!


You have got to get up and move! Now this, I struggle with. By time I get the chance to exercise, I don’t want to. I am a full-time wife, mother, and nurse….I am tired! The problem is, I am not burning excess calories by keeping my couch cushions warm. Find an activity or exercise you enjoy & make it happen. Don’t limit yourself to running or lifting weights, if that’s not your thing. I have joint pain and have injured both knees. Also, this body was built for comfort (not speed). Running isn’t for me and I don’t make time to go to the gym. I love to exercise by dancing with the kids. It’s a workout for us all, and it’s fun! I also really enjoy yoga. Yoga awakens my muscles and improves my strength without causing excess stress to my joints. Even better, my 3 year old loves to do it with me! “Breathe into your heart momma…”

I also really enjoy my Fitbit. I have had this thing for over a year and it has been an eye opener. Fitness trackers are great at informing you of how much work you have done, or reminding you of how lazy you have been. I researched them pretty heavily before deciding on the Charge HR and have thoroughly enjoyed it. The access of the app for my phone has made it simplistic to use. They continue to update the app frequently and it is easily linked to several other apps (such as MyFitnessPal) to keep all of your information together. They aren’t for everyone, but I love mine!

So, let’s do it! Let’s be accountable for our health. Make a goal and make it happen!

What steps do you take to be accountable for your health?

-Shawna

2 thoughts on “Being Accountable

  1. This is an area I need to greatly improve. I find great success with calorie counting and using my FitBit Alta. But, as most of us tend to do at some point, I slipped off. I have lost 70 lbs from my heaviest weight 4 years ago, but struggle to not gain back at least 10-20 of it. Accountability, either with a friend or a journal, is crucial. This is a 2017 goal of mine. BTW, I LOVE that you have a blog now!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think holding yourself accountable is probably the hardest step. It is for me, at least. You have made great progress and look beautiful! And thank you! I am still getting used to putting myself out there in this way. I really enjoy it, though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

