Health

Feel Bad Foods

kaboompics-com_range-of-wine-gums

We all have them… Those foods that, no matter how good they may (or may not) make us feel going down, leave us regretting it later. I found myself indulging in a couple of my own ‘feel bad foods’ this week. I knew it wasn’t the best idea, however, that didn’t stop me. Nope! I gave in. And I felt awful later.

I find my busy lifestyle leaving me tempted by the ‘easy’ or ‘fast’ foods. The ones that I can grab quickly and keep on truckin’. I used to survive off of fast food. Both times I was pregnant, I could have lived off of McDonald’s chicken nuggets. Yes, y’all! Those nasty, over processed things that are advertised as real food. You may think I am kidding, but those who were around me knew I meant business about those nuggets. The other day, we stopped by McDonald’s to grab something quick while we were out-and-about. I was in heaven for a bit. Those french fries were to die for (or I was extremely hungry, one or the other). Later on, I wished I had not ate the first one! I felt so drug down and had horrible indigestion. Horrible.

Yesterday, we took part in a parade. Obviously, candy was involved. What the heck kind of parade doesn’t include immense amounts of sugary sweetness?! Needless to say, I may have eaten a couple (or dozen) pieces of candy. It is amazing how quickly that took effect on me. I went from having a great deal of energy to seeking out a place to take a nap within the hour. I had a headache. I just felt plain bad!

I said all of that to say this: what we eat plays a huge part in how we feel. HUGE! Those ‘cheat’ foods are tempting. They are. I get it! And I am openly admitting to partaking in unhealthy snacking. We all have those times where we just feel like we need that little taste of something that feels so forbidden (food y’all, food!). I’m not saying don’t have a piece of chocolate from time to time or eat a bit of popcorn when you see a movie. But pay attention to how your body feels afterward. Your body can, and will, let you know when something isn’t good for you.

What are your feel bad foods?

How do you keep yourself from over-indulging in them?

Until next time….

-Shawna

Leave a Reply

