A Better Self

Health, Wellness, & Well-Being

product

Logo Via FMM

What does it mean to be “well”? When I think of my personal health, wellness, or well-being, I try to do so with a holistic mindset. Many people tend to focus on their physical health. So long as they can breathe and their ticker is working, they are fine. What if I told you there was more to your individual wellness than your physical self?

b3c1e28ace82f5cbd931aae21c22252d

Your ability to have good health and wellness involves more than physical ailments, or the lack there of. It involves your spirit, your emotions, your environment…all of the things that make you, you. I don’t think it was until recently that I realized this. I swear, it was like I woke up one morning, and something in me changed. Drastically. I began striving towards gaining insight into all aspects of my life. I realized that I was only focused on one or two fragments, instead of viewing each collective element. I tell people that the best way for us to work towards improving ourselves, is to see our sense of well-being as a puzzle with several pieces. These pieces, while seperate in themselves, must be also be placed together precisely, create the picture in its entirety. If you are missing a piece, the puzzle isn’t complete. It is essential that we view ourselves as a puzzle. We need to do our best to make sure that our physical, mental, emotional, spiritual, etc. pieces are each worked on so that we can use them to create our perfect picture.

The World Health Organization defines health as “…a state if complete physical, mental and social well-being and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity.”

The Mickinley Health Center, University of Illinois states that wellness “is a state of optimal well-being that is oriented toward maximizing an individual’s potential. This is a life-long process of moving towards enhancing your physical, intellectual, emotional, social, spiritual, and environmental well-being.”

My goal is to continue to explore this concept, that until recently, seemed so foreign to me. To continue to evaluate my personal health and well-being, while striving to achieve a sense of overall wellness.

“For everyone, well-being is a journey…the secret is committing to that journey and taking those first steps with hope and belief in yourself”- Deepak Chopra

So, it’s time. It’s time to take those first steps. Why not start today?

Happy Friday, y’all!

-Shawna

2 thoughts on “Health, Wellness, & Well-Being

Leave a Reply

