A Better Self

15 Natural Ways to De-Stress

Those stressors, triggers, worries, anxieties…they are there and we are sure to experience them at some point. These feelings happen to each and every one of us. For some, these stressors are easy to ignore or cope with. For others, it is more of a challenge.

I’m a worry wart by nature. I stress over everything and nothing (simultaneously). I worry about things within my control and things way beyond it. I stress over things I deal with and the turmoils others experience. Stress and worry have become a comfort zone, and one I am wanting to break away from.

As I said, some are able to easily manage their stress and anxiety, while others have a more difficult time. While temporary feelings like these are normal and expected, if they become continuous and overwhelming, they need to be further evaluated and treated appropriately.

You will find that, as you read my posts, I like to handle things in a natural and holistic manner. As a nurse, I see how medications are pushed towards people as though they were handing out M&Ms to a child. Now, I am well aware that medications are needed at times and I do not approve of stopping medications without discussing it with your health professional. However, if I can find a way to cope and manage with the things I deal with (and others as well) that is natural and healthy, I plan to do so.

So, let’s highlight a few natural methods that we can use to reduce stress. Keep in mind that while some of these may seem “too simple” or “not helpful” to you, they may help others. There are many healthy coping methods to deal with our worries and each individual responds differently. Find what works best for you!

  1. Watch an uplifting movie
  2. Read a motivational book
  3. Enjoy nature & go for a walk
  4. Use aromatherapy
  5. Meditate or Pray
  6. Practice deep breathing
  7. Exercise or Practice Yoga
  8. Break out your favorite music & dance
  9. Take a bath
  10. Talk with a friend
  11. Write it out-Journal, Blog, etc.
  12. Treat yourself with something you enjoy
  13. Organize your environment
  14. Laugh…& then laugh some more
  15. Get a massage

These are just a few tips, there are so many more things you can do to naturally de-stress. When the initial elevated anxieties calm down, take time to step back evaluate the situation. Is it something that you can control? Is there something that could have been done differently? Are you surrounding yourself with an unhealthy environment or hostile personalities? Is there a way to keep it from occurring again? What did you learn from the event?

Life isn’t stress-free, but we can chose how we react and what we are willing to accept.

-Shawna

Leave a Reply

