Health

Why I Yoga

Yoga came as an unexpected journey. One that I knew little about and felt quite foreign to me. When I began trying to exercise again a while back after gaining an extensive amount of weight, I sought out something that would work for me. I couldn’t find enough reason to make time for the gym, running was a no-go, and a repetitive workout regimen felt boring. Somehow I came across a yoga sequence and fell in love.


Yoga is more than (what appears to be awkward) posing, it’s a lifestyle. And for me, it was a blessing I didn’t know I needed. It is a connection of mind, body, and spirit. It is a focus on your breath and therefore your peace. It is finding the best in yourself and the best in those around you. It is a fluid movement of your body and a practice of control. It is a meditation and control of thoughts. It is a mindfulness of yourself as well as all that surrounds you. It is a balance of all things and a breaking down of barriers that prevent you from being the best version of yourself.

The lotus is a powerful spiritual symbol. Though it’s roots are planted in mud, it becomes a beautiful flower despite its origins. It symbolizes how we can overcome obstacles and represents growth and spiritual development.
When I first began trying to practice the sequences of movement, I was surprised at how much of a workout it can be. You awaken muscles you didn’t even know you had. It is a full body involvement. Initially, I was hesitant because I did not think that I could follow through with the poses. And some I could not. However, I was surprised with what I was capable of doing. Some poses came easy, while others were more of a challenge. That was okay, it gave me something to work towards. It allowed me to find areas of openness in my body, as well as areas that were overruled with tension.

While I continue to learn something new each day, I am thrilled with the yogi journey I have been on thus far. I enjoy seeing and feeling the changes. The accomplished feeling of nailing that pose that I thought was impossible for me.

I felt as though I was not flexible or “skinny” enough to practice yoga. I thought the poses were all there was and that there was no way my obese body could accomplish those. I felt as though there were so many barriers, only to later realize there were none except the ones I created.

So why do I yoga? I practice yoga to help me become the best version of myself.

Namaste

-Shawna

7 thoughts on “Why I Yoga

  1. Love your blog! Its nice to know someone else going thru the same struggles and not afraid to share about it. So what yoga sequence got you started? I haven’t tried any for years but now that you’ve explained the feeling of inner connection it may be just what I need!
    Tanya

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I believe my first one was from SeanVigueFitness on YouTube. His attitude was humorous and grabbed my attention. However, after much watching of videos, I usually highly recommend Yoga With Adriene. She has many videos to chose from and of all levels. She makes it easy to follow along, especially if you are new to yoga or just starting fresh. A simple sun salutation and really learning basic poses is a great way to start. Finding out what you’re capable of, setting goals, and really learning how to focus on your breath. Good luck! I am so glad that you enjoyed my post. I think it is important to really be open so that we can all realize we aren’t in this alone and we aren’t the only ones with these experiences or struggles.

      Like

  2. I have been postponing my yoga lessons for quite long. This post inspires me, specifically the powerful stuff such as focusing on our breath and being mindful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, I’m glad. And I appreciate you stopping by. I find myself being upset when I don’t do a yoga practice several times a week. My body craves it. Physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually.

      Like

Leave a Reply

