Health

Natural Ways to Boost Your Metabolism

My metabolism is no-bueno. At least, I don’t think it is. I have always been a bit on the larger side, even as a kid, and feel as though my slow metabolism may have played a part in this (amongst other things). That means I have to make a conscious effort to improve it, thus improving my health. So, I thought I would make a quick post on a few natural ways you can help to boost your metabolism.

  • Eat 5-6 small (calorie balanced) meals a day. Keeping an appropriate amount of nutritional fuel in your body assists with regulating insulin levels and workload of the body’s systems.
  • Drinking 2-3 liters of water each day can assist with improving the body’s ability to flush toxins and waste, while also significantly improving its ability to burn calories even while resting. 
  • Shoot for 8 hours of sleep. I know all of you busy folks are rolling your eyes right now. I nearly never get this much sleep. But we need to try! Sleep deprivation can cause a slow metabolism and may increase binge eating and inactivity.
  • Work on those muscles! Muscles burn more calories than fat. End of story.
  • Eat breakfast. I cannot stress that enough. Eating first thing in the morning gives your body the fuel and kickstart it needs to get your metabolism on the ball. Make sure your breakfast is rich in nutrients to burn more and help you feel full longer.
  • Have foods rich in protein. Because your body breaks protein down slower than fat or carbs, these foods help keep you feeling fuller longer. The longer processing time also require more fuel to be used, therefore meaning more calories will be burned.
  • Have some green tea. I’m not much of a tea drinker (although I live in the south), but I like green tea. Especially hot with a little agave. Green tea contains catechins and antioxidants. It’s great for burning fat and boosting your metabolism.
  • (People of the world) Spice up your life! So I may have been a Spice Girls fan as a kid, who wasn’t?! But that isn’t what I mean. Cooking spices, y’all. They are for more than taking up space in your cabinet. Things like cinnamon, anise, and cayenne naturally contain components that increase your metabolism.
  • Cut out the trans fats. They may taste good for a short time, but they don’t feel good for your body. A lot of your baked goods and fried foods contain these. Trans fats slow your body’s ability to burn fat and could lead to diabetes type 2.
  • Avoid restrictive diets. Remember when I told you that you had to eat enough to lose weight?! I mean it! Fad diets that are severely low in calories will reduce your metabolism and may cause weight gain.

I hope these tips help those who feel as though they struggle with low metabolism, as I do. Taking care of yourself can be done naturally. Why not try?

Stay Whole, Hearty, and Happy ๐Ÿ˜˜

-Shawna

2 thoughts on “Natural Ways to Boost Your Metabolism

Leave a Reply

