A Better Self

Expectations 

This seems appropriate for today, Valentines Day. 

Expectation: a strong belief that something will happen or be the case in the future; a belief that someone will or should achieve something. 

So, while I’m not talking about you expecting a special gift from your significant other, I do find it appropriate to kind of hint towards that ideal today. Not necessarily the idea of the want to receive a gift, but the expectation that you have to do so. The expectations that we set for others, specifically.  

(I am really needing to practice what I preach here.)

I tend to expect too much of people. I expect them to know better, do the right thing, make the right choices, do things with  the same conviction I would. The problem is, we often have unrealistic expectations for others. You cannot control those around you. I’ve tried. Your friends, family, acquaintances, co-workers…these are all real people with faults, just as we are. They are not marionettes on strings and we are not their puppeteers. I am a control freak. I will admit it. I like to have my hands in it all and be able to make all things go according to plan. Unfortunately, that is not how the world works. 

What I should do is focus on appreciation instead. Appreciating the fact that these people are in my life. Appreciating the good things that are a reality for me. Appreciating the small things, without unrealistic expectations of something more. 

The truth is, your expectations that don’t become a reality, rarely hurt those who didn’t quite live up to it. It hurts you. You are the one who suffers from the emotional struggle of unanticipted disappointment. Loosen the reins a little bit. Release the hold on some of those expectations (not all, but some) and grasp on to the idea of appreciation. Liberate yourself by diminishing your need to control the things that you cannot, and concentrating on the things that you can. It is also good to remember that it is not fair to expect others to be a perfect and finished product while we allow ourselves the continued ability to refine who we are. 


Maybe there is someone else who is in the same boat and needs to know they aren’t alone. Needs to know that their emotional struggle with unresolved expectations is not a solitary encounter that they alone experience. 

I hope everyone has a wonderful day!

Happy Valentines Day ❤️

(SN: None of this is related to my experiences today in particular, just an overall thought based on today’s prompt.) 😊

-Shawna

2 thoughts on “Expectations 

Leave a Reply

