A Better Self

Center Of You

Life is hectic, busy, and consumed with errands and to-do lists. We become so accustomed to doing what we feel we have to do and have little time to care for ourselves. Little time to focus on our purpose, our happiness, our center

I found this little diagram while skimming through good ole Pinterest and thought I would share: 


We, as humans, feel the need to have purpose. Makes enough sense. Why are we here if not for a reason? That reason gives us something to strive for, gives us meaning. It’s who we are.

It’s our center. 

It is important to take care of your core self. Your inner spirit. Your soul. When your inner most needs, wants, desires, emotions are ignored, you suffer. We may go from feeling in-control to completely overwhelmed with life. Stress increases and our world feels like a pond full of scattered ducklings, barely treading water. 

We have to find a way to get back to our center. For some, it’s through meditation or prayer. For others it may be by making time to focus on what is important to themselves or doing something that makes them happy. Maybe reading a book, turning up the music, or getting some much-needed rest. 

If we take the time to find what it is that we truly love, what supplies our need, what would make the world a better place, what is it we are good at – that is when we find our center. 

“At the center of your being you have the answer; you know who you are and you know what you want.” -Lao Tzu

Whenever I begin each yoga practice, I work on blocking out my surroundings. I focus on my breath. I relate my breath to my center physically, then spiritually, emotionally, mentally. What makes me, ME? 

If I can focus on my center. I can find my purpose, then I can focus on who I am and who I want to be. I can seek the things and people who help to create the best of my center self, and rid my self of what may inhibit it’s growth and flourishment. 

Breathe. Ground. Focus. Be Mindful. 

I am STRONG-WILLED. I am TALKATIVE. I am HELPFUL. I am LOVING. I am STUBBORN. I am full of WONDER. I am LOYAL. I am SENSITIVE. I am CREATIVE. I am SPIRITUAL. I am working on being UNDERSTANDING. I am INSECURE with a want for CONFIDENCE. I desire ADVENTURE. I am INSPIRED. 

 This is my center, what is yours?

-Shawna


9 thoughts on “Center Of You

Leave a Reply

