#FridayFoodie

Simple Sausage & Chicken Stir-Fry

image1 (1)

Hey y’all! I hope everyone has had a great week so far. It has been super busy over my way! Although being busy definitely has it’s benefits, it can have some drawbacks. One that I tend to face a lot is having time to cook a really good meal during the week. There just doesn’t seem to be much time to do so.

So, I always keep frozen foods around. Now, I don’t love them as much as when they are fresh, however they work in a bind. I am sure that there will be those who completely go ga-ga when they see that I’m putting frozen food items on this recipe, but this is real life y’all. Life where days are long & I come home tired and sometimes with a crunch in time. Having these options around help to make dinner quick so I can spend extra time with my family.

I’ll trade fresh veggies for that any day!

img_7373

 

Anyhow. I love a good stir-fry. They are simple to make & you can alter the ingredients to fit any taste you want that day. So many options! I basically adjust my ingredients based on what flavor I want that day, but more on what food I just happen to have lying around. The other day, it was chicken, sausage, green beans, broccoli, and brown rice. Toss in some seasonings, a few extras, and you’re ready to go.

 

 

When I posted this on my Instagram & Facebook page a couple of days ago, someone mentioned that it looked like Nasi Goreng. Well, I had never heard of such a thing before. Thank goodness for Google. I looked it up and it is an Indonesian stir-fry. Some of the recipes sound amazing. I may need to give those a go in the future! Try out some new flavors.

nasi_goreng_with_lime_87031_16x9
Image Source & Recipe: BBC FOOD

 

Simple Sausage & Chicken Stir-Fry

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Time: 20minutes
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

A quick & easy dinner for those busy nights.


Ingredients

  • 1 package Steamers broccoli (plain select)
  • 1 package Steamers green beans
  • 8 to 10oz of smoked sausage (I used Register’s – it’s local & yummy)
  • 9oz Tyson Grilled & Ready chicken breast strips
  • 1tsp garlic salt
  • 1/4 cup sliced green onions
  • 3-5 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 9oz Tyson Grilled & Ready chicken breast strips
  • May wish to add peppers or red pepper flakes to taste
  • 2 bags boil-in-bag brown rice

Directions

  1. In a pot, begin to cook the brown rice per instructions on box. While this has started cooking, start your stir-fry.
  2. Put 3 Tbsp of olive oil in pan. Add broccoli, green beans, chicken, sausage, garlic salt, green onions, & other ingredients if you wish. Cook on medium to medium-high until done.
  3. Drain rice & put in dish. Add stir-fry to top. Serve & enjoy!

I hope everyone has a great weekend, & happy (soon to be) Fourth of July to my fellow folks in the states!

What is your favorite stir-fry recipe?

-Shawna

Check out last week’s #FridayFoodie recipe here!

20 thoughts on “Simple Sausage & Chicken Stir-Fry

  1. I usually stay away from brown rice because I just don’t find it delicious compared to white. But I know it’s the healthier alternative. You put everything I love on this recipe (especially the broccoli) and I guess brown rice is worth a try again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It took a while for me to get used to it initially, but now I prefer it over white rice 90% of the time. If needed, you can swap the brown for white. The nutrition and such is different of course, but it is another option. Thanks for stopping by 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

